questions for teachers and educators around the world

ronaldo_7   Sun Jul 01, 2007 1:26 pm GMT
hello.. i'm a teacher trainee who would to have some opinion about this issue. What are the advantages and disadvantages in using eclectic approach to teaching english? thank you. = )
Guest   Sun Jul 01, 2007 1:41 pm GMT
Any teaching approach is better that forces learners to be in charge of their learning. A language is as big as sea and one can not swim through it with the help of others. He or she has to be a strong swimmer to swim through it (i am being a philosopher here but you get my drift, i hope so)and there is only way to do it is to be independent- getting away from traditional methods. I can bet you, you as a teacher, can't impart the whole language to your learners by presenting some tried and tested drills like role plays and asking quizzes on a particular recording. Such stuff does not cut. Language learning is simple, read what is interest of you, listen what is interest of you, you'll make inroads in that way easily and naturally. Sorry to be blunt, most of the teachers and ESl schools don't know how and what they are teaching in their class rooms. They are more interested on the business side. This is true in every country.
Liz   Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:47 am GMT
An eclectic approach can be advantageous if you combine different approaches well and effectively. It's much better than strictly adhering to one particular approach all the time, even when it's not appropriate.
Damian in Edinburgh   Mon Jul 02, 2007 10:53 am GMT