How can I improve my pronunciation?

Topic Starter   Fri Jul 06, 2007 6:34 pm GMT
Hi everyone,

How can I improve my pronunciation? Check out my accent sample below. Also, if you can guess where I'm from, go ahead. This is the text I used for my sample:

I started learning English when I was 6 years old. For 8 years I learned English the way everybody does — by going to English classes. It was awfully ineffective. I did everything that the teachers told me to do: the homework assignments, everything. But I didn't get any results. At least, no impressive results. I mean, I was always one of the best students in class. Still, reading English texts took me a long time, I made lots of mistakes when writing, my pronunciation was bad, and I could only speak English very slowly. Eight years of sacrifices, and these were the results...

It got a little better because of... computer games. When I got my first PC in 1991, I started playing lots of adventure games. I especially loved LucasArts (then called Lucasfilm) games, such as the Indiana Jones and Monkey Island series. Playing these games, I would read a lot of English sentences, and after some time I gained a little "grammar intuition". When I did well in a local English contest for 14-year olds, I thought that adventure games had taught me more than English classes. You see, I would often "feel" the right answers in grammar tests, while other students had to remember dozens of grammar rules. But my English was still pretty bad.

http://www.antimoon.com/learners/tomasz_szynalski.htm.

You can find the sample here: http://dl4.ohshare.com/v/5159791/accentsample1.mp3.html

Thanks in advance.
Guest   Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:40 pm GMT
funny accent. Well, no one is holding a gun at your head. Please speak up. You were speaking words inside your mouth. Were you feared of something? Your accent was incomprehensible. I'd give you 2 marks out of 10.
Guest   Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:54 pm GMT