How to Break the Ice with Foriengers

Willow Tasi   Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:37 pm GMT
Hi, I am a Englisg-major college student from Taiwan, and this is my first time to visit this website, which is so useful and convenient for anyone from anywhere. I am so glad that I can ask someone or even more to solve my questions about English and meanwhile I can also help someone to solve his/her questions as well!

Anyway, I got a question here: How to break the ice with foreigners? All of my dear teachers tell us all the time that we should grasp any chance to talk in English, especially when coming across those foreigners whose native spoken langage is English. Somehow, I find that it's easy to talk to someone but so hard to start a conversation that interests that person I am talking to.

Can you guys share me about your personal experience or advices when you're under the same situation?

Thanks for any reply

All the best,

a confused Taiwanese student, Willow Tasi.
Guest   Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:50 pm GMT
It is always nice to ask a simple question like this: What do you do for living? or Are you a student? From there on, you should try to pick up more info for asking further questions. One question leads to another; It works in my case, though!
elvanshalle@yahoo.com   Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:52 pm GMT