Self-study methods

Girigiri   Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:41 pm GMT
Hello.

Ehrr... Well, I do not know where should I start from.

Most English I know, I have learned from listening music, watching TV and chatting. I do not know any grammar rules but those you can learn passively and often make rough mistakes. My sentences usually sound kind of unnatural, and I am not very good at speaking. (Lacking practice, perhaps?) My parents have never cared sending me to an English course and now I regret I did not learn the language since I was a kid. Last year, I tried taking English classes, but it was a complete blunder. They had a test level which consisted of multiple choice questions and a spoken interview. Obviously, I did extremely bad in the spoken interview -my pronunciation is just awful-, but just okay on the test. IMHO multiple choice questions are just not the best way to measure one's knowledge: one might not know everything there, but feel familiar with the patterns and just feel the right answer. So in the end, they placed me on ADV3, which was the last but second stage of their regular course. Imagine me, someone who had never spoken a word of English to anyone else having to take part on English conversations and discussions. The class was small, there were just 3 girls beside me, but all of them had been studying there for 7 or 8 years already; they were already fluent. In other hand, I had a hard time trying to make myself understood. It is not all about shyness, just that it was somehow new for me and I was surrounded by people who could do it much better than me. In the end of the period, I decided to quite it 'cos it was a waste of both time and money. My parents wanted me to 'finish the course'. Their excuse was "hey, you only have one stage left, why not finish the course and then you're done with English?". Geez, parents! I was not learning a thing so I wonder what they meant by "you're done" when I was just "starting"... Since then, I just put English asi