The use of IPA in learning correct pronunciation?

Xie   Wed Feb 13, 2008 4:06 pm GMT
I've had some experiences with "IPA", or to be more exact, some broad transcriptions and custom transcriptions in certain dictionaries.

How should one use the IPA to learn English? I'm sort of leaning toward Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary (the same e-dictionary suggested by admins here), but I still don't understand how Cambridge's symbols correspond to X-SAMPA or IPA (broad), etc.

I personally find it too tedious to check a paper dictionary, unless I can't really find any entry in every electronic dictionary. I'd like to know if many learners here use IPA, and if you try to pronounce a lot of words correctly.

Here's my idea:
If I were to present English to my Chinese friends/relatives, esp. those who don't even know a single English word, shall I be doing something as preparing parallel texts for them? Like in your home country, we also have lots of textbooks for English (and rather old-fashioned).... but audiobooks aren't commonplace yet.

If I do (and I do) parallel texts, I'd hope it is:

- 2 columns, English and your native language
- Use an e-dict, like that of Cambridge, to copy transcriptions. As you move on (using a nice textbook or whatever; I guess someone should have tried Assimil English before?), you can copy less transcriptions in your .doc/.rtf files

I don't care much about the electronic format. Some people say "interlaced" bilingual texts are better, well, that's just me (you may think differently, don't you?)

The main reason of copying the symbols NEAR the text is that I personally forget transcriptions almost as soon as I close the e-dict. I'm doing this for French, and while it's a bit boring, copying has enabled me to understand phonemes much better with my knowledge of IPA (and relevant transcriptions for individual languages, like French).
Guest   Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:11 am GMT