Do you speak any slavic language?

Ed   Friday, May 06, 2005, 02:01 GMT
<<Don't start your nationalistic stunts with me. I'm not talking politics. >>

Whoa, what just happened here? I'm just suggesting that this might be a reason for the lack of Macedonian dictionaries and stuff.
Deborah   Friday, May 06, 2005, 02:33 GMT
Are you able to communicate? If you don't speak, have you ever tried? What languages? What made you learn? Why did you give up? Is it easy to find a school/teacher of slavic languages in your country?

I studied Russian off an on for a few years starting in 1988, because I made 3 trips to the [then] USSR. I stopped studying because my interest in visiting Russia disappeared. I could communicate, although I didn't always understand the answers. It's easy to find Russian teachers where I live (San Francisco, USA), and you can find teachers of other Slavic languages at universities in this area.
Frances   Friday, May 06, 2005, 02:45 GMT
Ed - the tongue poking out was not taken in good humour, especially since I know you are of Bulgarian background. I hope you mean otherwise or I stand by my remark.

Travis - Serbian, Croatian and Bosnian are essentially the same but are dialectially different (known as stokavian and kajkavian dialects) with regionalisms of course. Macedonian however is completely different to these languages though (FYI). For example, Serbian etc have cases and Macedonian is caseless. Yes, Macedonian is mutually intelligible to Serbs etc and vice-versa but it is not the same language. If Macedonian is deemed to be the same, it is like saying that maroon is the same colour as fire engine red.
Travis   Friday, May 06, 2005, 05:33 GMT