A Scandinavian language

Thomas   Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:31 pm GMT
I'd like to have a discussion with my fellow Scandinavians.
What do you think will happen with our languages? Will they slowly disappear because of other languages, like English, or will they grow stronger, fx. become ONE language? They all come from the same old language and are still very close. One thing is the written language, what about the spoken ones? Do you find it difficult to understand Danish/Swedish/Norwegian? Do you talk in your own language when you visit another Scandinavian country? Do you think it is a good thing that students are allowed to write in Danish if they study in Sweden?
Thomas   Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:37 pm GMT
By the way, I am Danish.

I hope that the languages will unite someday. I enjoy talking to Norwegians or Swedes. I work in a store, and I always want to speak with the customers from N and S. I do not have problems with understanding them. If i get into trouble, then I simply ask them to speak slower. I like the way they threat new words in Norway and Sweden. They make new words for the English or try to make them look Swedish or Norwegian. Denmark doesn't make any effort. We just "copy" into our language. I always talk in my own language when I meet Scandinavians.
T   Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:48 pm GMT
Also, it would be a good idea that the languages "joined", a language with 19 million will be taken more seriously than one with only 4-9 million.
Sander   Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:54 pm GMT
The chance that the Scandinavian languages will all dissapear or be replaced is extremely small.But the idea that they will reunite with eachother is quite possible,afterall the differences between Danish,Swedish and Norwegian (bokmal) are smaller than with some dialects of other languages.If that ought to happen what would be the name of that new language?
The Swede   Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:09 pm GMT