Is German really so hard? And English so easy?

Jav   Tue May 09, 2006 5:37 pm GMT
Frederik,

No, it's a bit complicated but it's like this.

Dutch has 3 Genders, but 1 common gender for female and male nouns.

>>Is it "de koe en haar kalf" or "de koe en zijn kalf"?<<

It's "de koe en haar kalf"

Because "koe" (Cow) is an obvious female word (in Dutch).

Cow:
* Stier (bull) --> Male cow
* Koe --> female cow
*Rund --> "cow" , you know nothing about the gender of this cow. Plural 'Runderen' would be translated as 'cattle'.

A non obvious example would be:

De vereniging en haar leden.
~The association and its members~
Kennis en haar kracht.
~Knowledge and its power~
Fredrik from Norway   Tue May 09, 2006 5:44 pm GMT
Ok! That makes Ducth a bit complicated!
Ed   Wed May 10, 2006 1:55 pm GMT
> Also, German pronounciation is a laugh when you get through the Umlauts, it's easy and very mild for your throat unlike (a) certain other language(s) ....

I agree, I started learning German at school and the pronunciation is pretty straightforward compared with French or Afrikaans but the grammar I found devilish. German doesn't seem to have so many diphthongs as Afrikaans which can be difficult to get your tongue round with its aa, aai, ai, ee, eeu, ei, eu, ie, oe, oei, oi, oo, ooi, ou, ui, uu etc, but then it sounds less interesting as a result. I presume the Dutch sounds are fairly similar?
Jav   Wed May 10, 2006 3:24 pm GMT
Yes, somewhat.Here are some Dutch diphthongs

ieuw
eeuw
uw
oei
ooi
ei
ui
ou
oei
ooi
aai
uw
ij
aa
eu
ee
oe
uu
ie
Ed   Wed May 10, 2006 4:34 pm GMT
Are ieuw and eeuw used where ieu and eeu are found in Afrikaans?

For example:

nieu - new
leeu - lion

Ij is almost always replaced by y, eg ys (ice).
Jav   Wed May 10, 2006 8:26 pm GMT
In afrikaans the IJ (that's how it should be written, not "Ij" as it is considered a single letter here) is always replaced with 'y'.

new = nieuw
lion = leeuw

So yes in most cases.
Aquatar   Wed May 10, 2006 9:02 pm GMT
Jav