Lexical similarities between French-Spanish-Italian

Castilianu   Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:17 pm GMT
>>I disagree with you that standard Italian is based also on Sicilian. Sicilian has always been thought of as different and corrupt form of Italian - it is even considered a separate language by many. Florentine accent is what standard Italian is based on though. The Rome accent is a mish-mash, not clear at all. I have heard it and it is even harder to understand.<<

Excerpt from Wikipedia:

"Italian was first formalized in the first years of the 14th century through the works of Dante Alighieri, who mixed southern Italian languages, especially Sicilian, with his native Tuscan in his epic poems known collectively as the Commedia, to which Giovanni Boccaccio later affixed the title Divina."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italian_language

>>Yes, everyone will have an opinion. Just so you know, I'm a native 'Madrileno' and I earned a masters degree in linguistics there. So I would like to think that my opinion has more than a moderate degree of legitimacy.<<

Exactly. If your area of expertise lies within linguistics, you'll know that Spanish possesses a variety of variants, some of which are closer "more or less" to Portuguese and others to Italian whether be it pronunciation clearity, grammar or vocabulary.

E.g.
Argentinean, Uruguayan, Chilean, Ecuador and Mexican etc. = Italian
Parts of Spain, Carribean countries and Venezuela etc. = Portuguese

>>Yes, European Portuguese is a little trickier, but not much. The main reason why Portuguese and Castillians don't bother learnining each others language, is because without even studying it, we are already capable of communicating almost effortlessly.<<