American

Josh   Wednesday, December 04, 2002, 19:37 GMT
Every time I come in here, I get surprised to see so many messages in this thread since I started. Thanks for your postings, guys.

I guess it can be summarized that Americans like to call American English American and Brits don't like the idea even if it's not British English that they want to call American.

I find Rosalind's previous posting very interesting. Indonesia and Malaysia both speak the same language but different names.
Mark   Thursday, December 05, 2002, 13:31 GMT
I don't know why American want to call American English American. Both the UK and the USA speak the same language though.
Marushka   Thursday, December 05, 2002, 18:20 GMT
You go Syb! It'd be a pretty crap language wouldn't it with just one country speaking it?? What would be the point??
Sybill   Saturday, December 07, 2002, 12:27 GMT
I know what would be the point!
Kevin   Saturday, December 07, 2002, 19:28 GMT
Dear Josh,

As I am currently studying English Language and Literature AS/A Level, here’s some brief points on why the American version of the English language should not be changed or labelled as purely American.

First of all, it doesn't show much consideration or respect towards the languages of the Native Americans, of which they are fighting to preserve their traditions, culture and language. Secondly...

...English Language is the chief medium of communication of people in the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and numerous other countries. It is the official language of many nations in the Commonwealth of Nations and is widely understood and used in all of them. It is spoken in more parts of the world than any other language and by more people than any other tongue except Chinese.