Caught and cot

mjd   Wednesday, March 10, 2004, 10:23 GMT
There is only one instance where I remember making a mistake:

I work part-time as a waiter. I was taking an order from a table of 6 people, all of whom I thought were Americans. When I got to the last guy, he said he wanted a pint of "hop." After excusing myself and asking him to repeat himself, I realized he was British and it became immediately clear that he wanted a pint of "Harp Lager." Had I known he was British, I wouldn't have gotten confused upon taking his drink order. The problem was that the only thing he'd initially said to me was "hop" and you can't really pick out someone's accent by just hearing one word.
Steve   Saturday, March 13, 2004, 01:53 GMT
Shogo, I pronounce ''draw'' and ''drawing'' as [dra:] and [dra:iN] ''drah-ing''. But, I pronounce ''drawer'' as [dro:r] ''dror''. ''Drawer'' is always pronounce as ''dror'' even by people that don't make a distinction between ''ah'' and ''aw''. ''doors and drawers'' makes a good rhyme.

Alice says, ''For me, both "palm", "balm", and "calm" as well, have a distinct "l" sound.'' and Shogo says, ''Alice, how about words like "talk" and "walk"? Do you pronounce the l's in these words too?''

This is how I pronounce these words. I don't pronounce an ''l'' in any of these words and I've never heard ''talk'' and ''walk'' pronounced with an ''l''.

palm [pa:m]
balm [ba:m]
calm [ca:m]
talk [ta:k]
walk [wa:k]
Kirk   Saturday, March 13, 2004, 06:12 GMT
I'm from California and pronounce "cot" and "caught" both as [ka:t], too. When I was learning to spell as a kid I always just thought of the orthographic combinations like "aw" "al" and "au" and the "-ought" words as just another way to represent the sound [a:]. I didn't realize that some people pronounced them differently until a few years ago while looking at a pronunciation guide distinguishing the spellings "aw" and "ah".