latinos

Deborah   Saturday, June 04, 2005, 18:55 GMT
I had a roommate from Canada who moved to San Francisco largely because she liked the not-cold climate. She was a nurse, so it was easy for her to get a green card.
Sander   Saturday, June 04, 2005, 18:59 GMT
She emigrated for the climate?!
Anthony, England   Saturday, June 04, 2005, 19:03 GMT
Hi Deborah!

Is that the same if you come from Europe too? I'm planning on becoming a nurse too. I have an honours degree in modern languages but haven't really used them as such. Everyone thinks I'm selling myself short wanting to make a career "in the lower echelons of society". Most people wouldn't do a nurses job, so they leave it to the immigrants to do. What do you think about someone with a degree in an area like languages wanting to become a nurse? Just need a few opinions that's all!

Cheers
Deborah   Saturday, June 04, 2005, 19:04 GMT
She really liked SF when she visited, and the weather was a significant factor. A lot of people from the northern US moved to warmer areas, so why shouldn't someone from Canada?
Sander   Saturday, June 04, 2005, 19:10 GMT
Is climate really a valid first reason for emigrating?
Deborah   Saturday, June 04, 2005, 19:16 GMT
Sander, I don't know whether it was her *first* reason for emigrating, but obviously it was a valid reason for her.
Sander   Saturday, June 04, 2005, 19:24 GMT
Yeah...still strange though :)
Deborah   Saturday, June 04, 2005, 19:28 GMT
Anthony,

This is from an article on the shortage of health care professionals: