looking for a Brit's view of AE

Vanessa   Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:33 am GMT
Hi everyone! I just came across this site while researching for a class project. I am a college student in Hawaii doing a project for my anthropology class, and I am researching Brit's views of American English. My Dad is originally British, but he has been in America so long, his help is limited. I would be interested in anyone's views or opinions on the topic, especially in regards to the general view of American English and the major differences Brits see between British English and American English. I know this has been mentioned in a few different posts, but I was looking for more in depth. Any thoughts are very much appreciated! Thanks!
The Swede   Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:49 am GMT
Please ignore Adam if he comment this subject!
Adam   Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:32 am GMT
Why? Because I won't say that American English is better than British English?

You'd never get a Swede saying that Norwegian is superior to Swedish.
Sander   Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:37 am GMT
=>You'd never get a Swede saying that Norwegian is superior to Swedish. <=

I bett you'd get a lot of Swedes say that Swedish is superior to English after reading your rubbish comment,but then again...no they would'nt ,because they have decency.
Damian in Edinburgh   Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:53 am GMT
This really is a very difficult one to answer!

The impression the vast majority of British people have of American English is what we hear on TV and in films....and from American tourists here. I should know...I live in Edinburgh and at this time of year in particular the city is awash with Americans.

It's difficult, as I say, to determine exactly how we feel about it.
Of course, the accent is a whole lot different...to me all Americans sound the same but to other Americans probably their home locations there would be apparent.