Do English teachers in England speak RP? Should they?

Candy   Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:52 am GMT
<<"Was meinen Sie?" is corect. <=

Hmm, 'Was meinen Sie' would be 'what do you mean' (polite form) >>

In fact, 'meinen' DOES mean 'think' too, so 'was meinen Sie?' or 'was meinst Du?' is perfectly correct. (There's also the related word 'Meinung', opinion.) 'Denken' would mean more the physically process of thinking, not opinion, so 'was denken Sie?' means more 'what are you thinking about?'
'Meinen' also means 'mean', eg 'was meint dieses Wort?' - 'what does this word mean?'
Graham   Tue Nov 01, 2005 6:58 pm GMT
I am an English teacher in England and I speak with my own Midwestern American accent. Only one of the English teachers at my school speaks with an RP accent and that's only because she went to boarding school. I don't think accent matters in spoken English, although careless or sloppy pronunciation should be corrected. However, I do insist on "Standard English" in my classroom; sentences like, "I ain't done owt," or, "I didn't say nothing," are not allowed.
Adam   Tue Nov 01, 2005 7:03 pm GMT
You'll not find too many English teachers in the North of England speaking with an RP accent, thank God. They speak in a normal way, like us Boltonians do.

We're not toffs. We're from Bolton, not Chelsea.
Jim   Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:37 am GMT
Sorry not to read the entire thread but I'm just answering the questions posed in the title.

"Do English teachers in England speak RP?"

I don't know for sure but I'd hardly think so.

"Should they?"

Definately not. No dialect is better than any other. English teachers, as any other teacher, should speak however they speak.
Uriel   Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:49 am GMT
I think you've pretty much got the point, Jim! In total agreement with you.

(And thank you, Guest57 ;)
Travis   Wed Nov 02, 2005 3:58 am GMT