Catalan and Occitan

Benjamin Andreu   Friday, April 16, 2004, 02:42 GMT
Hello to All,
I am studying Catalan and am curious as to how Catalan (and also Occitan) has changed over the centuries. Specifically, how has Spanish changed Catalan since the so-called unification of the Spanish state, especially in terms of pronunciation? Conversely, I am interested in how French has impacted Occitan in a similar way.

I have read over and over how Catalan and Occitan were once the same language (essentially), and that Catalan and Occitan speaking people were also the same culturally, especially in the Middle Ages. So I am interested in how they diverged and the extent of that divergence, especially the part that changes introduced in those two languages from foreign sources (i.e. Spanish and French) played in the process.

Thank you.
Simon   Friday, April 16, 2004, 06:42 GMT
You may - as a comparison - wish to look at Frisian within the Dutch state, as I believe the situation would show similarities.
nic   Friday, April 16, 2004, 07:46 GMT
Occitan has changed because of the langue d'oïl influence. Some people still understand it like my grand parents (they speak and understand it) ; my parents (they understand it) and i (i understand a few expressions and words).

It's different because of school i guess, when our grands parents had to go to school they had to use french.

It's different from spanish because there has been some influences spanish did not have, like the italian and the german. On the opposite, i suppose spanish had arabians influences the french occitan did not have. Ths why there is the franco, provençal, the auvergnat...and some other versions in Spain.
Jordi   Friday, April 16, 2004, 08:03 GMT
I have studied both Occitan and Catalan and I'm a native Catalan speaker.