Your Accent!

Lolly   Friday, July 16, 2004, 11:16 GMT
>>Ferdinand said:
If you pretend speaking french, you need to work more...

So do you mate, so do you, if you pretend you speak English.
Ben   Friday, July 16, 2004, 14:28 GMT
I'm from the Northeastern most part of Connecticut, which is very "muddled" area, accent wise. I also went to acting school, where they teach you how to speak "American Standard," a sort of overly proper kind of stage speech which I'm sure has had some effect on my accent.

The only recognizable "regionalism" that I have is that I say the word "Aunt" as "AHnt," rather than the standard American "ant."

Otherwise, I've found that a lot of Connecticut has a very northern, almost midwestern sounding accent. Although in my neck of the woods, there are a lot of Boston-isms too--people drop "r"s and and say "wicked" alot.

It's just a weird, weird state.
Justin   Friday, July 16, 2004, 15:53 GMT
I'm a 15-year-old student from Beijing, China. And I myself think I have an American accent, maybe slightly influenced by some kind of Chinese accent. I don't drop my "R"s at all. And I make a distinction between "cot" and "caught".

Now some classmates like me in Beijing speak English pretty well, I suppose. However, not everyone follow a typical British or American style. Many young English learners tend to speak a mixtured English. Firstly, it is optional not to pronounce "R"s for them. They may even pronounce "idea" as "ideer". Secondly, sometimes they pronounce "laugh" as "lahf", other times, "laf". Thirdly, many English learners don't distinguish "cot" and "caught".
Random Chappie   Friday, July 16, 2004, 17:36 GMT
Wo xiangxing Beijingren jiang yingwen dou hui fa "r" de ying. Ni men laoBeijing juanshe shi youming de!

I believe Beijing people speak English all will pronounce "r" sound. You Beijingnese curl tongue is famous!
Random Chappie   Friday, July 16, 2004, 17:42 GMT