English and Gender(s)

Easterner   Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:54 am GMT
Candy: >>Damn right you can't tell the gender, which suits me fine. I don't like it that in German I have to be a 'Lehrerin'. Why is it important to call me a female teacher? I'm just a teacher!<<

Candy: >>I really like the fact that in English you can say 'my partner' without having to say if it's a man or woman. OK, usually it becomes obvious from the personal pronouns you use, but it gives people a chance to be more private about their private life if they want to.<<

Let me venture a very subjective remark. To me, the genderlessness of profession names in English is somewhat too impersonal. This might be a cultural thing. My own language, Hungarian, also lacks grammatical gender completely, but nevertheless there is a female form to all profession names, formed by adding "-nő" ("woman") to the name of the profession. Thus: "doktornő" (female doctor), "tanárnő" (female teacher), etc, much in the vein of Italian "-essa", as in "dottoressa", "professoressa", or German "-in", as in "Lehrerin". This is also used as a polite form of addressing the given person, not just as the designation of her profession. It bothers me a little that you can't say "madam teacher" or "madam doctor" in English, just Miss, Mrs or Ms followed by the person's name, or just "doctor", "judge", etc. - it is this last bit that I find cold and impersonal. So the uniformity of profession names regardless of sex is not always to the advantage - but as I said, this is my subjective opinion, and depends much on the culture you were reared in.

As for partnership terms, as far as I know, languages with grammatical gender also use some gender-neutral terms: for example, French definitely uses "partenaire" for both sexes, albeit with a different possessive adjective depending on sex. I'm not sure if "mon partenaire" can be used uniformly if you don't want to give away the sex of your partner.
Guest   Wed Apr 12, 2006 10:21 am GMT