English and Gender(s)

Bardioc   Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:30 am GMT
But, terms like ''Mädchen'' have lost the deminuative sense, while ''Bübchen'' did not. You can analyse ''Mädchen'' as derived form ''Magd'', so it would actually be some kind of ''litte female servant'' or ''little maidservant''. But using ''Mädchen'' do not recall that possible meaning nowadays, excluding maybe some feministic activists.
Candy   Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:32 am GMT
<<It's also not good to exclude that you'll get convinced on something right before you really got aquainted to the topic. >>

What makes you think I'm not?

<<I also stated why assinging gender to (inanimate) objects arbitrarly does make sense! >>

I know you did. Still doesn't make sense to me.

<<There are lots of things about English that seem "ridiculous," "pointless" and appear illogical to non-native speakers. >>

Obviously. I'm an English teacher and am well aware of them, and would be the first person to admit it. I see my students struggling with English every day. Simply because I think gender is illogical doesn't mean I think English is 'perfect' and completely and totally logical!

<<I maintain - and you've admitted - that your stand here is based purely on your own bias. >>

Yes. And? We all have our own subjective opinions and biases. Now you know one of mine. You and I will never agree on this, so let's keep it friendly and agree to disagree!
Candy   Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:35 am GMT
Addition to above: just as my students have to put up with the craziness of English, so I have to put up with gender in other languages. I accept it's a part of French and German, the only other languages I know, and when I learn words I have to learn 'der, die, das' too.

Doesn't mean I have to like it! ;)
JJM   Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:38 am GMT
"an object has no gender."

An object in French clearly DOES have a gender - it's either masculine or feminine.

What it does not have is a sex.