Is the Mandarin Chinese uniform everywhere?

Super Korean   Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:58 pm GMT
Mandarin Chinese(Pu tong hua) is spoken in a vast area but my Chinese friend says it is uniform everywhere.

So I asked him if Taiwanese people and mainland Chinese people(Mandarin speakers) have the exactly same accent. He said the Taiwanese accent of Mandarin Chinese is a little bit different from the mainland Mandarin accent.

Is it true that Mandarin Chinese is uniform everywhere in mainland China?
Whether you live in Beijing or Harbin, Nanjing or Tsingtao, you hear the same accent?
jfiow   Sat Jan 24, 2009 9:14 pm GMT
No it isn't.
CommonAswhole   Sat Jan 24, 2009 9:16 pm GMT
The Party's form of Mandarin is the only one allowed.
J.C.   Sun Jan 25, 2009 5:06 am GMT
When I started learning Mandarin I had teachers from Taiwan and the only difference I could realize so far is that people in Taiwan don't distinguish between "si" and "shi" so 10 (shi) in Taiwan sounds like 4(si). I also heard about Taiwanese is based on the language spoken in Fujian, which is the 闽南 (minnan) dialect.

Cheers!!
Xie   Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:54 am GMT
Not really. But the peculiar thing is Mandarin is understood from Harbin to Beijing to Shanghai and to Chengdu. For such a huge country like mine, it's interesting to see a language prevailing among almost a billion of Chinese with a multitude of accents. China didn't impose Mandarin on everyone completely, so to speak. I'd say, unlike Russian in Russia and English in the US, Mandarin developed for centuries to get a foothold in much of China.

Note also that the notion of Mandarin existed even during the Qing Dynasty. Notably, the guanhua of Sichuan was a kind of south-western guanhua, the Sichuan precedessor to Sichuan Mandarin.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Map_of_sinitic_languages-en.svg

So, we end up with something this.

http://zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Madarin_in_Chinese_Mainland.PNG