I'm not good at spoken English.

Boy   Sunday, April 20, 2003, 03:52 GMT
I'm a student and learning English. Trust me, my spoken English is pathetic.
I read news headlines daily, I use my dictionary daily for looking complex words up. I tune in to up-to-minute news on international news channels.
I do all stuff that a normal learner can do. I keep in touch with English daily.
I stopped reading news in my native language a long year ago let's say a couple of years. What is my problem, I'm unable to speak proper English sentences with native speakers as well as English-versed non-native speakers.

Really, trust me, I don't have confidence in my speaking skills. I feel antsy when my opponent is an English speaker. I can't deliver what I want to deliver to them.

Reading helps students to enhance their skills in the English language but everything becomes wrong when they come to have speaking something else. I have some friends who have recently gotten higher marks in the toefl tests but they are pathetic speakers and they confess that.

Do you know any ways that you can share with the students for coping their fear with the spoken English?

See ya, then!
KT   Sunday, April 20, 2003, 05:32 GMT
Every beginner has their fear in conversation. The key is to get the words out of your system anyway. You may be incorrect in grammar, you may be wrong in pronounciation. You just can't worry about it too much. Try not to come up with the perfect sentence before you say it. Say it anyway without thinking too much. But afterwards, you have to remember what you've done wrong and correct it in your head.