South African English

andre in south africa   Sunday, April 24, 2005, 07:24 GMT
Just found this in the archive - thought I would revive it, was previously started by Tyrone

>I'm an American graduate student in California that just recently finished off five months of undergraduate study in South Africa. I find to my amusement that there are several colloquialisms that appear to have permanently become part of my lexicon, such as "is it," "shame," "nice (pronounced as if 'noyce.'), "lekker," "boykie," and "howzit."

I was wondering if anyone knew the precise differences between S.A. English and standard American English, and what other colloquialisms are commonly used. That, and I'd love to hear more talk about S.A. English, which indeed does sound different in various regions across the country (Cape Town speech sounds different from Durbs, from Jo'burg, from the Free State, etc) <

Thought it would be interesting to hear your views
andre in south africa   Sunday, April 24, 2005, 07:42 GMT
Tyrone

On the original thread you stated that English was the only official language in SA until 1948. That is incorrect. Until 1925, our official languages were English and Dutch. In 1925 it became English and Dutch OR Afrikaans (meaning you could choose which of Dutch or Afrikaans you wanted to use as official language). Dutch then quickly fell into disuse, and in 1961, when we became a republic, Dutch was dropped completely as official language
Sander   Sunday, April 24, 2005, 08:06 GMT
=>when we became a republic, Dutch was dropped completely as official language<=

You barbarians!
andre in south africa   Sunday, April 24, 2005, 08:09 GMT
LOL!! @ Sander
andre in south africa   Sunday, April 24, 2005, 08:21 GMT
Tyrone

You mentioned a few Afrikaans which became part of SA English. The word *trek* as in Star Trek, also comes from Afrikaans. So one Afrikaans word has managed to sneak into American English too! :)
Kirk   Sunday, April 24, 2005, 09:49 GMT