FRENCH or SPANISH?

Selçuk   Wed May 30, 2007 1:36 pm GMT
Hi, everyone, I am a student from Turkey wiling to learn one of these languages. But I couldn't decide with which to start... Actually I want to start with Spanish as it is much less complicated compared to French and it is much more widely used. But when it comes to diplomacy and necessity in Turkey, I should start with French...Help me please...
Guest   Wed May 30, 2007 1:39 pm GMT
Italian
Guest   Wed May 30, 2007 1:42 pm GMT
It depends on your future job, and more things.

Perhaps, the better way to resolve it is simple: you can speak one of them well, and to have a basic knowledge of the other one.

If you speak Spanish well, you can understand Portuguese and Italian speaking people more or less.
Alba   Wed May 30, 2007 1:59 pm GMT
Spanish. But I guess it depends where you live. And learn Italian too lol. Its a beautiful language.
Selçuk   Wed May 30, 2007 2:18 pm GMT
Hmm, yeah, I think in terms of mutual intelligibility I should start with Spanish in order to understand Italian and Portuguese as well. But in Turkey actually Spanish is no use. No one needs it really, but everyone is seeking for people being able to speak French. Even Italian is much more a necessity than Spanish in Turkey although it is the other way round in the rest of the world. I'm really confused which Romanve language to learn in Turkey. It is very very very difficult to decide...
Aldo   Wed May 30, 2007 2:37 pm GMT
I'm a native Spanish speaker and I won't tell you that you must learn Spanish because of that so before you decide think why and for what you need to learn this one or that one.

Although if you say that everyone is seeking for people being able to speak
French then French would be the best option for your future. If you are planning to move or work in any place of the American continent then Spanish obviously would be the best option and automatically taking advantage of the Portuguese level of intelligibility as well.