I'm not good at spoken English.

abdul   Monday, April 28, 2003, 04:53 GMT
I read in this forum several weeks or months ago that one of the tips to improve English speaking was by speaking slowly. I tried this method. By speaking slowly, we are more ready in "preparing" the things we are going to say. We have more preparation when the time has come to speak. Ofcourse, we need to speak everyday. There's no other way, that we must speak English everyday.

So far, I have tried to speak English slowly.
Das Behälter   Wednesday, April 30, 2003, 17:07 GMT
David Bosch: @:o)

Einige Wörter, die Sie schrieben, sind britisch.

Maths (UK) = Math (US)

We in the US say "math" as a whole, where British say "maths" as in parts. Each equation would be a math.

And again:

Brill (UK) = Cool or Brilliant (US)
David Bosch   Thursday, May 01, 2003, 03:04 GMT
Oh!, I see, I guess that means I am really learning British here in London.
Haleem   Tuesday, May 06, 2003, 13:49 GMT
hi dear!
today i am going to share with a problem which suffered me almost every where. The problem is that i cant speak english and cant provnounce english word correctly.
Simon   Tuesday, May 06, 2003, 14:16 GMT
Son't get a complex David. In any language you have to adjust your register. If you need the extras/differences etc. that constitute American learn these. It's not like everyone speaks exclusively British English or American English.
Simon   Tuesday, May 06, 2003, 14:54 GMT
Spot the deliberate spelling mistake above.
MunchkinLad   Tuesday, May 06, 2003, 18:09 GMT
'Son't' instead of 'Don't'?

Children learn languages faster than anyone and they're not afraid to make mistakes. I'd think that so long as you're speaking to someone who can correct you it's better to speak more and be corrected (also the more you speak the more you should hear replies and pick up grammar) than to not speak because you're afraid of saying something incorrect.
dumira   Wednesday, May 07, 2003, 09:38 GMT