I'm not good at spoken English.

David Bosch   Friday, May 16, 2003, 21:55 GMT
No, no, no, it's all right, you didn't sound rude at all, I agree that I was wrong.
If you need help with German, of course you can ask me, I would be very pleased to help, though I'm begining to forget mi mother tongue, lol.
Clark   Saturday, May 17, 2003, 00:25 GMT
David what is your native German dialect? Or do you just speak Hochdeutsch?
David Bosch   Saturday, May 17, 2003, 00:31 GMT
Ich bin aus Bonn
Clark   Saturday, May 17, 2003, 00:36 GMT
So, du kannscht nicht en Dialekt sprechen?
KT   Saturday, May 17, 2003, 02:55 GMT
wow, I didn't know there are different dialects of German. How do they differ from each other? Can people understand each other speaking different dialects of German? In Chinese people speaking diffferent dialect scan't understand each other.
KT   Saturday, May 17, 2003, 03:17 GMT
I didn't know there were differant dialects of German. I am so stupid. What does scant mean? Disregard what I write I am so stupid.
David Bosch   Saturday, May 17, 2003, 04:16 GMT
An example of that would be the pronunciation of Ich, it's ij in the south, ik in Northwest, and moreover.
David Bosch   Saturday, May 17, 2003, 04:18 GMT
sorry, Northeast,
Clark   Saturday, May 17, 2003, 05:01 GMT
Yes, there are lots of German dialects, and for the most part, Germans can understand each others' dialects; but it is not easy. One classifies German into three sections; Low German (spoken in the North), Middle German (spoken in the middle of the country) and High German (spoken in the South). And then the Swiss and Austrian dialects are like High German dialects.

Pennsylvania German, the dialect in which I am most familiar with, is an off-shoot of a Rheinisch (Middle German) dialect which is spoken in Pfalz (Paelzland in Pennsylvania German).
KT   Saturday, May 17, 2003, 07:20 GMT
Thanks David Bosch and Clark. Are there any differences between the German spoken in the East and the West?